In the words of a teenager…

On Friday after school, I picked up my 15yo at the library on my way to collect the younger kids…. we discussed his day for all of about 5 seconds…

Once we were all home he casually announced that I’d like his new case manager…. since she wears birkis. Then he disappeared into the depths of his room to be immersed in any number of DVDs, music CDs or such for an extended amount of time.

As to the case manager… well I haven’t met her. She’s no 7 since his diagnosis in Yr 9. Not bad for a lad who dislikes change…

Funny thing is… I’d already decided I liked her, she rings me once a week to keep me up to date with what’s happening for him. She advocates for him with teachers, has organised class changes within days of my requests and now she’s implemented him using his netbook in class AND doing his assessments one on one.

AND she wears Birkis??? She must rock.

~ by C J on March 29, 2010.

 
