Options are important!

If there’s one thing I try to remember about children, it’s that they like to have at least a small sense of control over their own lives. The tantrums and refusals all seem to come down to that…. whether they are 2 or 15.

So with that in mind, giving a child choices seems to work best if you want to have cooperative offspring. Now I’m not saying give them a heap of choices… sheesh.. I still can’t get my head around anymore than two, so how will they?

For example, last weekend I took 3 of the children camping. The drive was 2.5hrs each way in a cramped and packed vehicle. Rather cosy I guess.

By Sunday I realised my 15yo had neither showered nor changed his clothes the whole 3 days. Ewwwww!

Faced with a looooooong drive home with him sitting beside me I needed to convince him that having that shower was worth it… he refused point blank when I asked him nicely to do so. Try plan B…

Ok lad, I’m more than happy to accompany you to the mens and assist you if you wish me to.

*Strange look from 15yo, plenty of jabs and pointing from teen friends around him*.

“Funny mum, I don’t think so… the men might mind if you do that,”

No stress mate, they can mind… I won’t. Or your other option is that I take you into the womens instead. Your choice!

I have never seen him move so fast to drag his towel, toiletries and clean clothes from the car and head towards the showers.

Now, if I could just get my 3yo to decide to use the toilet over his current choice… I’ll be doing just fine!

~ by C J on April 15, 2010.

 
