Uh oh.. don’t look now…

That party is looming… scarily close. In fact, it’s only a few days away… am I prepared? I’m not exactly sure.
You see, I’m still coming to terms with the fact my little man is growing up. Not just a little bit but giant leaps of growing up!
In the past year, Master 4 has achieved so many firsts.. BIG firsts.
1. He attended his first “real life” Wiggles concert! Does it matter that it was only my second? Or that I still don’t know the words to most of their songs after 14 years?? Don’t ask on my last experience, the tickets were $7 each and we sat on the ground of a school gymnasium! Oops.
I even managed to score seats only 5 rows from the stage this time!! Go me! Somewhere around an hour into the show, my little man crossed his arms and announced loudly, “When are they finished? They are taking too much longer!!!”
2. In February he also met his grandmother for the first time. He thought she was wonderful and she loved him straight off as well… he is a loveable kid!
He does often ask why she lives so far away… one day I’ll actually admit it was me that moved away.. I promise!
3. His first Camp Quality Junior camp. In April, he went with his companion J and thoroughly enjoyed himself. A whole weekend without his siblings, mum or dad. Do you think he missed us?? Well the pictures on the camera tell the whole story… not. one. bit. He has asked me at least once a week if it’s time for next years’ camp already.. *sigh*
My little 4 yo is *almost* a big 5 yo… so that means a big celebration to match – right?
The invites have gone out to his “Magic Show Party”. I’ve planned the menu (and nup.. not a lolly in sight! ), I’ve checked the RSVPs (eek.. nearly 30 kids and around 10 adults.. ooh!), borrowed a marquee and table (for the park!), started the food prep and delegation and prayed it stays fine!


I’ve even made sure everyone remembers to vote (since the PM called some “important” election on the date I had already picked! Some people! )
But I do have a surprise planned.. his beloved friend, the clown doctor, is really a world class magician… and she’s doing a show, just for him and his friends.  I know he’ll squeal when he sees her, he’s only asked me at least 3 times a week if I invited her.  I’ve told him she has something really special on that day but if we hope enough, you never know.
And I’m not even stressed yet. Why? I don’t know. Maybe because I realise that we’ll get by with a little help from our friends.. and we are blessed with some of the most amazing ones who’ve held me up for the past 5 years since my adorable, dark haired, bespectacled, loveable and cheeky little man arrived. I almost feel like it’s MY celebration! I just wish they could all be here. 😀

Happiest of Birthdays to an amazing little boy. We all love you dearly.

~ by C J on August 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Uh oh.. don’t look now…”

  1. Happy happy birthday gorgeous boy! And happy birthing day, mumma C 😛

Comments are closed.

 
