Get inked…

Anyone who really doesn’t like tattoos.. please look away now. Fanks.   No really.. you won’t like this post.
I’ve honestly never really been a fan myself… I know my sister has a few.. including a large dragon on one side of her torso. Just not my style. But it’s not something I’ve dwelt on.
So someone tell me why I thought it appropriate to go and ask for, not one… but TWO in the last oh… 14 years? Seriously? The first one was an impulse decision. Walking past a tattoo studio with a male friend one day with our children, he asked if we could go in and look. I was a little surprised as I wasn’t aware that he had any creations… He didn’t and he was happy to browse. Impulsive me asked the obviously available artist if he had time to do a small ankh. He nodded and we discussed designs and price. I went with it. On my stomach.. ouch! It’s still there and has grown on me (literally with each pregnancy!) and I can’t imagine not having it now.

Ok, it didn’t help I’d been ill for a few days (can I blame my lack of judgement on that too???) nor that I have a well known needle phobia! Hmmm I figured if I didn’t watch I’d be ok.. right? No, not really… I came close to passing out a few times (and was grateful I was lying down!) but it wasn’t until he’d finished and I was ready to leave that I actually collapsed on my poor friend who was trying to look after two three year olds.. Yay me!
So for me to decide on another.. took me a good ten years! It had to be for the right reasons though.
A couple of years ago I met a precious little 6 year old Miss who stole my heart in her bravery and ability to smile during an arduous and often terrifying battle with a rare form of childhood cancer. Not a stranger to the less common ones, it didn’t take me long to decide I was going to hang around to help her wonderful mum, 3 siblings and her if they needed. :heart
Her passing in January 2009 touched the lives of millions through her mum’s sheer courage and stubborn willingness to share her story with the world. That little lady is forever in mine and my children’s hearts… and her mum is one of my most beloved friends.
My latest tattoo is in memory of her… and many many more of my amazing friends’ and their children’s enchanting journeys…
My eldest is alive today and I will never take that for granted. He is a miracle and I am eternally grateful for that.

 

Rainbow of Angels

The final word came from my 3 yo this morning… after looking at my shoulder intently as I refused to move from my bed (my exuse being that I’m not feeling too crash hot… ) he asked,

“When are you going to wash your arm Mum? It’s still dirty!”

~ by C J on September 27, 2010.

5 Responses to “Get inked…”

  1. love it, only a child could say such a thing. I hear you on the tattoo thing, I have been to get one twice and chickened out each time but lately i have had a yearning to make a mark

    • Do it Kel…. although I better not tell you, it’s not as bad as it seems really. I managed to stay upright for all of the second one!! 😉

  2. Bahahaha, love it!
    What a beautiful dedication to your friend’s daughter.

  3. boootiful. Lol, love the out of the mouths of babes 😉

Comments are closed.

 
