You can never be too sure…

“I can’t find it Mum!”  Miss nine yelled from her room.  I could tell she’d barely moved from sitting on the floor, playing with her doll house instead of searching for the mattress as I’d asked. 

It wasn’t like it could be in too many places.  Where CAN you hide a double mattress?  Not many places in my house let me tell you!

“Have you checked the cupboard?” I countered as I cleaned up the kitchen after dinner.

“Yes,” came the unfazed reply.  She hadn’t moved, I could tell from the direction of her voice.

“Go look in your brother’s room then, it may be under his bed,” I was wracking my brain for ideas.

“But what if he tells me off?”  Her reply made me laugh.

“Well unless you can hear him 50kms away, I doubt you have an issue.  He’s not home.”  I waited.

“How do I KNOW that he’s not home?” It now sounded like she was standing outside his closed door… a somewhat slight improvement.

“Believe me, he’s not.  I dropped him off at the train station three hours ago,”  Well I did, at his request.  After all, he’d asked politely.

“What if he walked home without you knowing?”  I stifled a giggle.

“He didn’t.  Just check it isn’t there… and leave everything else alone!”

“Ok… but if I’m not back in five minutes, send a search party!!”

*Oh and if you really need to know… it was in the hall cupboard.*
~ by C J on October 15, 2011.

 
