So WERE you?

“Muuuuuum?”  My little miss asked ruefully whilst engrossed in her homework.

“Were you ever any good at anything when you were younger?”

Well of course I was… LOTS of them came to mind immediately.

I was great at reading, cooking, hanging out with my friends, playing Donkey Kong on my Nintendo Game and Watch (remember them???), avoiding doing my homework, annoying my siblings until they screamed , riding a motorcycle over large dirt mounds in the back paddock, bicycling the five kilometres home with no hands (shhh don’t tell my mum!!  ), saving my mother on clothes washing (how many weeks CAN you wear the same pair of jeans??), playing my cassette deck LOUD, making a mess in Art and pulling off a pretty good grade at the same time, organising my patrol of Girl Guides (don’t die of shock… I was! ), playing guitar, taking opportunistic photographs of people in awkward situations, laughing and telling stories.

Not just any stories… but retelling events that happened.  In a good way.  I seemed to have a knack for it.

“I was pretty awesome at a lot of things but I really liked reading and telling stories,” I finally decided to impart.

“Oh?  Are you STILL good at that?” she was looking at me… or was it straight through me?

“I guess so…” I smiled.

“Well that’s not going to pay the bills Mum,” she raised one eyebrow suspiciously.

“No? Are you sure?”  I started to ponder the possibilities…

“Oh well, guess you’d be good at blogging at least,”

I live in hope dear daughter… I live in hope. 

 

~ by C J on October 24, 2011.

 
